Special Symposium on Impact-Based Decision Support Services

Abstract Submissions

submit abstract

Abstracts are due by August 8, 2017.
Abstract Fee and Author Instructions

As part of the Weather-Ready Nation initiative, the National Weather Service is rapidly advancing Impact-Based Decision Support Services, or IDSS, reflecting the agency's transition toward a service- rather than product-centric enterprise. Concurrently, numerous private sector enterprises and government entities are service-centric or are transitioning toward service-centric operations.

Yet, this transition reflects a paradigm shift, one that presents both opportunities and challenges. Rapid advances in technology ensure wide access to data, but data is most effective only when it can be translated to actionable information. This requires high-quality forecasts tailored to specific end-user needs; increased understanding of how end-users engage with and respond to messaging across a wide range of dissemination platforms; and continual research, implementation, and training to ensure and increase effectiveness. Further education, both academic and professional, and research across the physical and social sciences is necessary to identify best practices.

Engaging the public sector, private enterprise, educators, researchers, and end-users affords an opportunity to advance this discussion.

Call for Papers

The symposium will feature both contributed and invited talks from across the weather enterprise (public, private, academic; physical and social sciences) organized around the four major themes::

  • Needs (physical and social science research; practice; etc.)
  • Challenges (barriers to providing effective impact-based decision support services)
  • Best Practices (from across the weather enterprise)
  • Collaborations (also across the weather enterprise).

Conference Contact(s)

The Special Symposium on Impact-Based Decision Support Services is organized by the AMS Committee on Weather Analysis and Forecasting.

For additional information please contact the program chairperson, Clark Evans (email: evans36@uwm.edu), Michael Lowry (email: michael.lowry@weathergroup.com) or Morgan Barry (email: morgan.barry@noaa.gov).