facebooktwitterrss feeds

Upload or Modify Extended Abstract, Handout, and/or Presentation

Abstract Modification Paper Program Deadline:
15 November 2013

Final Extended Abstract Deadline:
6 March 2014

An abstract fee of $95 (payable by credit card or purchase order) is charged at the time of submission (refundable only if abstract is not accepted).

Authors of accepted presentations will be notified via e-mail by late-September 2013.

All abstracts, extended abstracts and presentations will be available on the AMS Web site at no cost.


Recorded Presentations

Miss a presentation?  Want to see one again?  Use the buttons below!

Edward S. Epstein Symposium

Wednesday, 5 February, 8:30 a.m.–5:30 p.m.; Room C205

Call for Papers

The Symposium will be devoted to the “Contributions of Dr. Edward S. Epstein to Scientific Endeavor.”  The program will include both invited papers and submitted papers.  Submitted papers will be either oral or poster.

The theme of the 2014 AMS Annual Meeting is “Extreme Weather—Climate and the Build Environment:  New Perspectives Opportunities, and Tools.”  The theme is most relevant to the NOAA goal and the National Weather Service vision for “A Weather-Ready Nation – a society that is prepared for and responds to weather related events,” and to Dr. Epstein’s work as he was continually searching for better scientific understanding and better ways to harness science to improve our service to the nation.

The Symposium solicits abstracts related to Dr. Epstein’s work, which include many of the topics solicited for the Probability and Statistics Conference, and in particular probability forecasting; evaluation of forecasts, especially probabilistic forecasts; stochastic dynamic analysis and prediction; weather prediction models emphasizing probability forecasting, including ensembles; Bayesian forecasting; applications of statistics to weather forecasting, climate prediction and climate change; harmonic analysis; decision models; and application of the Kalman filter and regression models.

 For additional information please contact the program chairpersons, Bob Glahn ([email protected]) or Dick Hallgren ([email protected]). (3/13)