2016 AMS Annual Meeting


28th Conference on Climate Variability and Change

View in the Scientific Program

Authors & Presenters

Please review our Presenter Guidelines.

Please note that abstract fees are only refundable if your abstract is rejected for presentation and Any abstracts withdrawn after acceptance must still be paid in full.

Important Dates

Sponsors and Organizers

The 28th Conference on Climate Variability and Change is organized by the AMS Committee on Climate Variability and Change and is sponsored by the American Meteorological Society.

Call for Papers

The theme for the 2016 AMS Annual Meeting, “Earth System Science in Service to Society”, weaves the many parts of AMS into a common core. Emphasizing the academic and research strength of AMS, the theme also connects that research to the benefits that society gains from our science. AMS merges the physical, chemical, and biological study of the Earth with human-centered “domains of action”: (1) Observing, (2) Analysis and research leading to understanding, (3) Modeling and prediction, and (4) Social sciences – how people deal with Earth. “Service to Society” explicitly evokes the integrated and complementary government and commercial enterprise that the AMS has done so much to foster over the last decade.  The 2016 meeting integrates AMS’ proud, nearly 100-year history of making a positive difference in the lives of our citizens by continually communicating the advances of its science research to the public and policy makers.

The 28th Conference on Climate Variability and Change is soliciting papers on the following topics in addition to those on the structure and mechanisms of climate variability and change:

Joint Sessions

Themed Joint Session

High impact weather: analysis, prediction and interactions with climate changes 

Student Award Opportunities

The AMS Committee on Climate Variability and Change encourages abstract submissions from students. Students presenting their own, original work as first authors are eligible to participate in the competition for the best oral and poster presentations.

Program Chair(s)

For additional information please contact the program chairs, Kristen Averyt , Daniel Vimont, and Benjamin Kirtman.


Full Version