facebooktwitterrss feeds


Annual Mobile App

Get the Mobile App for the AMS Annual Meeting Today!

18th Conference on Atmospheric Chemistry

View in the Scientific Program

Authors & Presenters

Please review our Presenter Guidelines.

Please note that abstract fees are only refundable if your abstract is rejected for presentation and Any abstracts withdrawn after acceptance must still be paid in full.

Important Dates

  • Check/Change Abstract Title and Author Listing Deadline: 2 November 2015
  • Oral Presentation Upload Deadline (before meeting): 4 January 2016
  • Supplementary Information Upload Deadline 11 February 2015

Sponsors and Organizers

The 18th Conference on Atmospheric Chemistry is organized by the AMS Committee on Atmospheric Chemistry and is sponsored by the American Meteorological Society.

Call for Papers

The theme for the 2016 AMS Annual Meeting, “Earth System Science in Service to Society”, weaves the many parts of AMS into a common core. Emphasizing the academic and research strength of AMS, the theme also connects that research to the benefits that society gains from our science. AMS merges the physical, chemical, and biological study of the Earth with human-centered “domains of action”: (1) Observing, (2) Analysis and research leading to understanding, (3) Modeling and prediction, and (4) Social sciences – how people deal with Earth. “Service to Society” explicitly evokes the integrated and complementary government and commercial enterprise that the AMS has done so much to foster over the last decade.  The 2016 meeting integrates AMS’ proud, nearly 100-year history of making a positive difference in the lives of our citizens by continually communicating the advances of its science research to the public and policy makers.

The 18th Conference on Atmospheric Chemistry is seeking contributions related to all aspects of atmospheric chemistry and air quality, including interactions among atmospheric chemistry, physics and dynamics; biogenic emissions; secondary aerosol formation; cloud effects on atmospheric chemistry; reactive nitrogen sources, transport, transformation, and sinks; and impacts of oil and gas development on air quality.  The conference will include invited and contributed oral and poster sessions, facilitating dialogue among atmospheric chemists, physicists, and meteorologists to tackle research challenges in this interdisciplinary field. The conference will also feature joint sessions with the Eigth Symposium onAerosol-Cloud-Climate Interactions and Mario J. Molina Symposium. Specific topics include:

  • Air Quality Impacts of Oil and Gas Development (Organized by Arsineh Hecobian, Colorado State University and Shane Murphy, University of Wyoming)
  • Atmospheric Convection: Impact on Atmospheric Composition and Chemistry (Joint with 8AeroCloud)(Organized by Jonathan Jiang, JPL)
  • Cloud Effects on Atmospheric Chemistry (Organized by Kenneth Pickering, NASA/GSFC and Annmarie Carlton, Rutgers University)
  • Themed-joint session: Greenhouse Gas Emissions: Quantifying Uncertainties in Measurements and Models and Resultant Climate Impacts (Organized by Abhishek Chatterjee, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center/USRA, Scott Denning, Colorado State University, Sean Crowell, Univ. of Oklahoma, Chris O’Dell, Colorado State University, Berrien Moore III, Univ. of Oklahoma, and Ian Baker, Colorado State University)
  • Pollutant sources, transport, transformation, and sinks (Organized by Jeffrey L. Collett, Colorado State University)
  • Secondary Organic Aerosols: Formation, Properties, and Atmospheric Evolution (Organized by Alla Zelenyuk-Imre, PNNL, and Jason Surratt, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Student Award Opportunities

The 18th Conference on Conference on Atmospheric Chemistry gives awards to the best student presenters in both oral presentation and poster presentation categories.  Cash prizes and a certificate from AMS will be awarded to outstanding first author presentations given by undergraduate and graduate students presenting their own original work. Students who wish to be considered for this prize must indicate their eligibility when submitting their abstract.

Program Chair(s)

For additional information please contact the program chairperson(s), Jeff Collett and Jiwen Fan.