facebooktwitterrss feeds


Annual Mobile App

Get the Mobile App for the AMS Annual Meeting Today!

Eighth Symposium on Aerosol–Cloud–Climate Interactions

View in the Scientific Program

Authors & Presenters

Please review our Presenter Guidelines.

Please note that abstract fees are only refundable if your abstract is rejected for presentation and Any abstracts withdrawn after acceptance must still be paid in full.

Important Dates

  • Check/Change Abstract Title and Author Listing Deadline: 2 November 2015
  • Oral Presentation Upload Deadline (before meeting): 4 January 2016
  • Supplementary Information Upload Deadline 11 February 2015

Sponsors and Organizers

The Eighth Symposium on Aerosol–Cloud–Climate Interactions is organized by the AMS Committee on Atmospheric Chemistry and is sponsored by the American Meteorological Society.

Call for Papers

The theme for the 2016 AMS Annual Meeting, “Earth System Science in Service to Society”, weaves the many parts of AMS into a common core. Emphasizing the academic and research strength of AMS, the theme also connects that research to the benefits that society gains from our science. AMS merges the physical, chemical, and biological study of the Earth with human-centered “domains of action”: (1) Observing, (2) Analysis and research leading to understanding, (3) Modeling and prediction, and (4) Social sciences – how people deal with Earth. “Service to Society” explicitly evokes the integrated and complementary government and commercial enterprise that the AMS has done so much to foster over the last decade.  The 2016 meeting integrates AMS’ proud, nearly 100-year history of making a positive difference in the lives of our citizens by continually communicating the advances of its science research to the public and policy makers.

The Eighth Symposium on Aerosol–Cloud–Climate Interactions will organize various sessions on aerosol-radiation and aerosol-cloud interactions on both process-level understanding and parameterizations for models:

  • Aerosol and Monsoon Interactions (Organized by Zhanqing Li, University of Maryland, College Park, MD)
  • Aerosol Impacts on Cirrus Clouds (Organized by Andreas Muhlbauer, University of Washington, Trude Storelvmo, Yale University, and Eric J. Jensen, NASA Ames Research Center)
  • Aerosol-cloud interactions in shallow clouds (Organized by Robert Wood, U. of Washington, and Paquita Zuidema, U. of Miami)
  • Themed-joint session: Atmospheric chemistry and aerosols in weather and climate prediction and analysis (Organized by Pablo Saide, Advanced Study Program, NCAR, and Gregory Carmichael, University of Iowa)
  • Current challenges of aerosol-cloud interactions in regional and global climate models (Organized by Andrew Gettelman , NCAR, Ruby Leung, PNNL, and Yi Ming, GFDL)
  • Impacts of aerosols on radiation (Organized by Jun Wang, University of Nebraska and Zhibo Zhang, University of Maryland)
  • Impacts of aerosols on storm dynamics, cloud physics, and precipitation (Organized by Wei-Kuo Tao, NASA GSFC, and Xiaowen Li, NASA GSFC)
  • Meteorology, Aerosols, Clouds, and Precipitation in Amazonia- GoAmazon2014/5 field campaigns (Joint with 18ATCHEM) (Organized by Jiwen Fan,  PNNL, Scot T. Martin, Harvard University, Luiz A. Machado. INPE, and Meinrat Andreae, Max Planck Institute for Chemistry)
  • Soil dust: Lofting and transport, characterization, and interactions with clouds and storms (Joint with 18th ATCHEM) (Organized by Ottmar Möhler, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany Paola Formenti, Universtié Paris Est, France, and Paquita Zuidema, University of Miami)

Student Award Opportunities

The Symposium Organizing Committee will host a student paper competition with award certificates and cash prizes for exemplary undergraduate and graduate student poster and oral presentations. Students must be the first author and presenting their own, original work. Students who wish to be considered for this prize must indicate their eligibility when submitting their abstract. 

Program Chair(s)

For additional information, please contact the Symposium program chairpersons, Sonia Kreidenweis ([email protected]) and Jiwen Fan.