About the Meeting

An Introduction from AMS

As many of you already know, given the situation surrounding COVID-19 and in response to a June survey where an overwhelming majority of AMS members and usual Annual Meeting attendees noted that they were not comfortable traveling to New Orleans for in-person sessions, we made the decision to move all oral and poster sessions, panel discussions, exhibits, and some networking for the 101st Annual Meeting to a virtual format.


At this time, we are continuing to monitor the situation around COVID-19 and are looking into the options for a smaller, in-person meeting in New Orleans for those who would still like to gather, if it will be safe to do so. We are also in the process of encouraging our local chapters to host socially distant gatherings during the week of the 101st Annual Meeting. We will share more here as they become available.


The theme of the 101st Annual Meeting is “Strengthening Engagement with Communities through Our Science and Services.” AMS President Mary Glackin and her Overall Planning Committee are looking forward to leading the AMS into its next century by being adaptable and innovative. We feel the virtual platform will allow us to attract many new attendees and allow for a level of inclusiveness that is much higher than we have been able to have in the past.


As we continue to share details on the planning over the next few months, know that we are working to keep everyone engaged and are confident that we will be able to organize a successful meeting and allow participants to share their science and connect with one another.


As our plans develop, we will continue to update the 101st AMS Annual Meeting FAQs and this website. We encourage you to check these sites regularly as well as look out for the 101st Annual Meeting Previews that will be published in the October, November, and December editions of BAMS.

If you have any questions, suggestions, or comments, please reach out to the AMS Meetings Department at meetings@ametsoc.org.


Theme of the 2021 Annual Meeting

Strengthening engagement with communities through our science and service


  • Improve actions/decisions with respect to our environment and keeping people safe
  • Help us shape our science to be actionable and improve our services
  • Improve understanding of the value of our science and build support for funding
  • Help us improve our research focus and its applicability to societal needs


It is increasingly clear that the development of sound science is necessary but not sufficient to translate into beneficial actions with respect to the weather, water and climate threats and opportunities.  There are numerous cases to demonstrate this including:

  • Post-disaster surveys following major weather disasters that document decision makers not understanding and reacting to the forecast and warning information received
  • Disproportionate impacts in diverse and marginalized communities
  • The lack of action commensurate with the threat of climate change impacts
  • Flat or reduced funding for key science efforts including sustaining basic observing systems.
  • Inadequate engagement with communities to contribute to resilience (e.g., inadequate building standards).  

We must expand our engagement of communities in meaningful and respectful ways; we must meet communities of stakeholders where they are versus where we are. Engagement implies a two-way dialog where we enter the conversation equally interested in learning as we are in communicating our ideas.

Communities include the public at large through various structures (e.g., faith-based communities, civic associations, etc.), policy makers in governments at all levels, the emergency management community, and other stakeholders.

We should be focused on how we better serve disadvantaged communities by working with policy makers and non-profit organizations.   Social justice should be germane to our actions.

We should be identifying more ways for communities to contribute to our science and services.  Examples include citizen science, being ambassadors from various communities (e.g., faith based), etc.

New Virtual Elements for the AMS 101st Annual Meeting

In response to the recent survey regarding the 101st AMS Annual Meeting and as noted in this announcement, we are moving all oral and poster sessions, panel discussions, and exhibits to a virtual format. We will also plan on having virtual networking opportunities and short courses available. 

We are looking forward to leading the AMS into its next century by being adaptable and innovative. We feel the virtual platform will allow us to attract  many new attendees and organizations and allow for a level of inclusiveness that is much higher than we have been able to have in the past. 

We are excited to have the opportunity to plan a much more inclusive meeting than past years and expect to have more details to share later this summer. As the planning continues, we will continue to update the 2021 AMS Annual Meeting FAQ’s that are posted on the Annual Meeting website.

New Orleans 

We are looking into the options for a smaller, in-person meeting in New Orleans, LA, a location familiar to many AMS members, for those that would still like to gather, if it will be safe to do so.

In the past, this setting has allowed us to explore actions this region has taken to become more resilient to disasters.  We should continue to explore that topic but broaden the lens to include other key features in the NOLA culture including art and food.  For example, how have changing conditions in the Gulf of Mexico influenced the local food scene.
With the theme of this meeting in mind, the planning committee intends to build some partnerships with local people to develop aspects of the meeting to contribute to community needs as well as meeting attendees to learn about NOLA initiatives.  For example, the latter could be accomplished through a walking map of community arts, music, culinary and weather sights. 

Officers of the AMS 101st Annual Meeting

Overall Planning Committee

Tanja Fransen and Nathan Johnson, Chairpersons

Jen Henderson, William Mahoney, Danielle Manning, and Tashiana Osborne

Program Chairpersons

Philip Ardanuy; Ghassem Asrar; Bob Atlas; Tom Auligne; Stephanie Avey; Robert Bauer; Tom Bedard; Rich Behnke; Reginald Blake; Eric Blake; Trevor Boucher; Scott Braun; Bill Burkey; Melissa Burt; James Campbell; Abhishek Chatterjee; Scott Collis; Marc Cotnoir; Gerry Creager; Becky DePodwin; Juliana Dias; Elizabeth DiGangi; Natalia Donoho; Clara Draper; Kristie Ebi; Kacey Ernst; Tyler Fenske; Jesse Feyen; Emily Fischer; Jeff Freedman; David John Gagne; Mary Glackin; Mitch Goldberg; Nick Grondin; Reid Hansen; Jen Henderson; Stephanie Henderson; Heather Holbach; Ken Holmlund; David Hondula; Scott Jacobs; Jonathan Jiang; Dave Jones; Satya Kalluri; Thomas Kilpatrick; Sujay Kumar; Ryan Lagerquist; Scott Landolt; Renee Leduc; Xiaowen Li; Sharan Majumdar; Steve Mango; Sophie Mankins; Danny Mattox; Amy McGovern; Gary McWilliams; Gretchen Mullendore; Erin Munsell; Pat Murphy; Terry Nathan; Steve Nesbitt; Dave Ortiz-Suslow; Kenneth Pickering; Nicole Reimer; Mike Robinson; Brian Rose; Zoey Rosen; Timothy J. Schmit; Hyodae Seo; Joyce Shaw; Owen Shieh; Tim Sliwinski; Rick Smith; Jennifer Sprague; Scott Steiger; Wassila Thiaw; Barbara Thompson; Tiffany Vance; Guiling Wang; Yuan Wang; Eric Wertz; Brandon Wolding; Klaus Wolter; Martin Yapur; Jim Yoe; John York; John Zack.

Meetings Department Staff

Claudia Gorski, Director of Meetings

Jen Ives, Associate Director of Meetings

Jenn Rosen, Exhibits Manager

Ricky Sidla, Senior Meetings Coordinator

Meghan Summers, Senior Meetings Coordinator

Marissa Welch, Senior Meetings Coordinator

Christine Card, Meetings Coordinator

Cati Iannarilli, Meetings Coordinator

Annie Delehanty, Meetings Coordinator