21st Annual Student Conference

Abstract Information

Abstracts are due by 17 September 2021 at 11:59 PM EDT

Submit Abstract

students presenting their posters

Securing the Future:  Guiding Tomorrow's Leaders in the Weather, Water, and Climate Enterprise

We are excited about how our theme for our conference: “Securing the Future:  Guiding Tomorrow's Leaders in the Weather, Water, and Climate Enterprise” has come together thanks to the hard work of the AMS Student Conference Planning Committee.

As always, we will be holding a student conference poster session on Sunday 23 January. A call for papers will be announced shortly. This session is open to be attended by all AMS meeting attendees and is a great opportunity for undergraduate and graduate students to present their research, network with fellow students and professionals, and gain experience giving scientific presentations.

Call for Papers

Papers for the 21st Annual Student Conference are solicited on the following:

  • AI and Machine Learning
  • Applied Meteorology and Climatology
  • Atmospheric Chemistry, Aerosols, and Air Quality
  • Aviation
  • Boundary Layer Meteorology
  • Climate
  • Communication and Social Science
  • Data Assimilation and Numerical Weather Prediction
  • Education
  • Extreme Weather Events
  • Fire Weather
  • GIS
  • Hydrometeorology and Flooding
  • Lightning
  • Mesoscale Meteorology
  • Mountain Meteorology
  • Observations and Instrumentation
  • Operational and Local Meteorology
  • Polar Meteorology
  • Radar Meteorology
  • Space Weather
  • Synoptic Meteorology
  • Tropical Meteorology
  • Winter Weather
  • Other

Student Award Opportunities

Presenters will have the opportunity to participate in the 2022 Student Conference Poster Competition. Five awards will be given for poster presentations (in each category: 1st place, $100; 2nd place, $100; 3rd place, $100).  

To be eligible for the presentation awards, presenting authors must be registered for the AMS Student Conference and an active AMS Student Members (or Member, Graduate Student) for 2021.

Please view the guidelines for the student conference poster session and competition.

Conference Contacts

For additional information, please contact the program chairs: Nick Grondin (ngrondin@vols.utk.edu), Tyler Fenske (tylermfenske@gmail.com), and Margaret Orr (morr6@gmu.edu).