10th Symposium on the Madden-Julian Oscillation and Sub-Seasonal Monsoon Variability

Abstract Information

This conference is not currently accepting abstracts.

Abstract Fee and Author Instructions

The 10th Symposium on the Madden-Julian Oscillation and Sub-Seasonal Monsoon Variability is sponsored by the American Meteorological Society and organized by the AMS Committee on Tropical Meteorology and Tropical Cyclones.

Student Award Opportunities

As part of the upcoming AMS Annual Meeting (January 23-27, 2022), the Tenth Symposium on the Madden Julian Oscillation and Sub-seasonal Monsoon Variability will be awarding both Student Presentation Awards and Student Presenter Travel Allowances.

Awards for the top oral and poster presentations will be given to student presenters. Students, if they wish to participate, should indicate their eligibility for a student award when they submit their abstracts. To be eligible, you must be currently enrolled as a student at a university, and you also must be the lead author and presenter of the work.

The Student Presenter Travel Allowance is designed to help offset expenses relating to registration fees, transportation costs, food, and lodging for students presenting poster or oral papers. To apply, students should prepare a short written statement (no more than one page) declaring their financial need and circumstance, relevance of their research to the conference, how they will benefit from attending the conference, and a copy of their abstract for the meeting. Travel allowance applications are due October 15, 2021, and should be submitted to sahenderson@wisc.edu, zkmartin@rams.colostate.edu, and brandon.wolding@noaa.gov. Students selected to receive the travel allowances will be notified by November 15, 2021.


Additional details regarding Student Presenter Travel Allowance:

Travel reimbursement will occur after the meeting. Registration should be handled prior to the travel and during the registration period where possible. Winners should work with their AMS lead meeting planner for both reimbursement and registration.

Conference Contacts

For additional information, please contact the program chairs: Stephanie Henderson  (sahenderson@wisc.edu), Brandon Wolding (brandon.wolding@gmail.com), and Zane Martin (zkmartin@rams.colostate.edu).