13th Conference on Transition of Research to Operations

The 13th Conference on Transition of Research to Operations is sponsored by the American Meteorological Society and organized by the Board on Environmental Information Processing Technologies

The rate of meaningful research results in the Weather, Water and Climate disciplines and enterprises has been steadily increasing, especially in this era of “big data” and disruptive new technologies. One of the grand challenges for these enterprises is to find which of these meaningful research results can, and the ways and means to, transition these results to operations and applications [R2O] using efficient and cost-effective techniques and technologies. R2O and O2R can provide those critical links in the transition chain of vast information to usable knowledge. The 13R2O Conference will support  extending the chain from R2O to Research-to-Services [R2S] (societal benefits) and the indispensable Services-to-Research [S2R] feedback process. These enabling capabilities directly support the overall theme for this 2023 AMS Annual Meeting – "Data: Driving Science. Informing Decisions. Enriching Humanity.".

The 13R2O Conference will continue to build on the AMS last year’s  Theme “Environmental Security: weather, water and climate for a more secure world” as well as on the 2021 AMS theme, “Strengthening engagement with communities through our science and services” by creating a framework for this coming year’s 2023 theme of the tri-fold impacts of Data - Driving Science. Informing Decisions. and Enriching Humanity. Emphasis will also be given to the data still needed to drive the critical science for weather, water, and climate. This 13R2O Conference will demonstrate how traditional and non-traditional observations, modeling and instrumentation are identified and validated for past, present, and future advances in research, technology and applications that drive transitions to meaningful operations in order to achieve and sustain environmental security for a more secure world. 13R2O is seeking papers describing recent advances in research, technology and applications that will support the Nation’s ability to provide more accurate weather, water, and climate information to decision makers and end users around the world. In addition, the 13R2O Conference supports the national and international imperatives for the effective and efficient transition of research into sustained operations and the feedback process of operations back to research.

Student Award Opportunities

Student Award Opportunities

The 13th Conference on the Transition of Research to Operations and the 19th Annual Symposium on Operational Environmental Satellite Systems are pleased to co-host Student Presentation Awards at the AMS Centennial Annual Meeting. Award certificates and cash prizes will be given for the best Student oral and poster presentations. Students who wish to be considered for these awards should indicate so when submitting their abstract. In order to be considered for an award, the Student must be the lead and presenting author.
The basis for an award will be:
          a.) Originality of the work, 
          b.) Quality of the presentation (oral and poster/slides) and the Student’s delivery.

Student and Early Career Professionals Event

The 13th Conference on the Transition of Research to Operations will be co-hosting with other Conferences and Symposia the 9th Annual Speed Networking Event [9SPNE]. The Event allows students and early career professionals to network with mentors via “speed networking” where the mentors (meteorology and allied discipline professionals) roam between tables at set intervals introducing the students and early professionals to a wide array of professions in the field of meteorology. The speed networking will include a social with light hors d'oeuvres, providing a great time for open networking. This allows the students, the early career professionals, and the mentors of their selected discipline to have extended conversations after their speed-mentoring.

Conference Contacts

For additional information, please contact the program chairs: 
Martin Yapur (Martin.Yapur@noaa.gov), Robert Bauer (Robert.Bauer@nasa.gov),
Changyong Cao (Changyong.Cao@noaa.gov), Eric Fetzer (Eric.J.Fetzer@jpl.nasa.gov), Sundararaman G. Gopalakrishnan (sundararaman.g.gopalakrishnan@noaa.gov),
Young-Joon Kim (Young-Joon.Kim@noaa.gov), Chandra Kondragunta (Chandra.Kondragunta@noaa.gov), Eric Miller (Eric.Miller@noaa.gov), John Pereira (John.Pereira@noaa.gov), Vijay Tallapragada (Vijay.Tallapragada@noaa.gov), Thanh Vo Dinh (Thanh.Vo.Dinh@noaa.gov), and Stephen Mango (Stephen.Mango@noaa.gov)