23rd Conference on Atmospheric Chemistry

Abstract Information

Abstracts are closed! The deadline was 8 September 2020 at 11:59 PM EST.

Abstract Fee and Author Instructions

View the Program

The 23rd Conference on Atmospheric Chemistry is sponsored by the American Meteorological Society and organized by the AMS Committee on Atmospheric Chemistry.

Call for Papers

Papers for the 23rd Conference on Atmospheric Chemistry are solicited on the following:

  • ACMAP: Atmospheric Chemistry Modeling and Analysis Program;
  • Air Pollution in the Arctic-Boreal Zone;
  • Air Quality Impacts from Energy Production and Agriculture; 
  • Air Quality and Climate Impacts of Biomass Burning: New Insights from Recent Field, Modeling and Laboratory Studies;
  • Data-driven Prediction of Air Quality Events due to Wildfires, Dust Storms and Volcanic Eruptions;
  • Emerging Megacities Air Quality;
  • Greenhouse Gases;
  • Mercury to Methane, High Latitudes to Houston, and NASA to NASCAR:  40 Years of Air Pollution Research in Memory of Robert Talbot;
  • Regional Air Quality.


Joint Sessions

  • Effects of Convection and Lightning on Atmospheric Composition (Joint between the 23rd Conference on Atmospheric Chemistry, the 13th Symposium on Aerosol - Cloud - Climate Interactions, and the 10th Conference on the Meteorological Application of Lightning Data);
  • Engaging Communities to Further Atmospheric Science Research (Joint between the 23rd Conference on Atmospheric Chemistry and the Second Symposium on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion);
  • Atmospheric Chemistry in Aerosol-Cloud-Radiation-Meteorology Interactions (Joint between the 13th Symposium on Aerosol - Cloud - Climate Interactions and the 23rd Conference on Atmospheric Chemistry);
  • Impact of COVID-19 on Air Quality (Joint between the 23rd Conference on Atmospheric Chemistry and the 12th Conference on Environment and Health);
  • Machine Learning Applications for Atmospheric Chemistry (Joint between the 23rd Conference on Atmospheric Chemistry and the 20th Conference on Artificial Intelligence for Environmental Science);
  • Aerosols and Health – Short and Long-Term Health Impacts of Exposure (Joint between the 12th Conference on Environment and Health and the 23rd Conference on Atmospheric Chemistry).

Student Award Opportunities

The AMS 23rd Conference on Atmospheric Chemistry (23rdATMChem) is proud to provide six outstanding student paper awards. Three awards will be given for oral presentations and three will be given for poster presentations (in each category: 1st place, $250; 2nd place, $200; 3rd place, $175; 4th place, $125).  The outstanding student paper awards recognize outstanding student papers based on evaluations of both the submitted paper abstracts and corresponding oral or poster presentations. In particular, the students selected for the awards should demonstrate outstanding qualities, including the following:

  • significance of the work and originality and creativity of the approach;
  • explanation of methods;
  • visual clarity (clarity of figures, appropriate font sizes, effective use of space, headings, etc.);
  • organization and logical structure (e.g., clearly stated questions, results and conclusions);
  • conclusions supported by data and analysis;
  • author’s knowledge of the subject matter including awareness of prior research in the field;
  • and ability to answer questions.

To be eligible for the presentation awards, you must be a full-time undergraduate or graduate student enrolled at a university, and you also must be the lead author, personally presenting the work.  Evaluation of oral or poster presentations for the outstanding student paper awards will be conducted at the meeting by the program chairs and session organizers.

How to apply: the student author should indicate in Confex if he/she would like to be considered for a student presentation award. Winners of the outstanding student presentation awards will be notified by 15 February 2021.

Conference Contacts

For additional information, please contact the program chairs: Kenneth Pickering (email: [email protected]), Emily Fischer (email: [email protected]), and Abhishek Chatterjee (email: [email protected]).