Ninth Symposium on the Madden-Julian Oscillation and Sub-Seasonal Monsoon Variability

Abstract Information

Abstracts are closed! The deadline was 8 September 2020 at 11:59 PM EST.

Abstract Fee and Author Instructions

View the Program

Call for Papers

  • A Review of the MJO: Progress, Challenges, and Paths Forward
  • Sub-Seasonal to Seasonal (S2S) Variability and Predictability: Monsoons and the MJO
  • Tropical Convective Variability and Climate Change
  • Tropical Field Campaign Collective: PISTON, YMC, and OTREC
  • Tropical Extratropical Interactions
  • Other Topics in Madden-Julian Oscillation and Sub-Seasonal Monsoon Variability

Joint Sessions

  • Interactions Between the Stratosphere and Tropical Convection (With 34th Conference on Climate Variability and Change)
  • Tropical waves, dynamics, and intraseasonal variability  (With Fourth Special Symposium on Tropical Meteorology and Tropical Cyclones) 
  • Atmospheric convection and air-sea interactions over the tropical oceans (With 34th Conference on Climate Variability and Change and 22 Air-Sea Interaction)

Student Award Opportunities

The committee will be providing several small grants to help defray the registration cost of the AMS meeting for students who submitted abstracts to present at the Ninth Symposium on the Madden-Julian Oscillation and Sub-Seasonal Monsoon Variability. Students who wish to apply are required to submit the following documents: 1) the presentation abstract, 2) statement of why they want to attend the meeting, 3) statement of commitment to attend if awarded the travel award, and 4) letter of recommendation from their adviser. Please email these documents to Brandon Wolding at [email protected]. Applications for the Student Presenter Registration Fee Waiver are due October 15, 2020, and notifications to recipients will be sent by November 1, 2020.


Awards for the top oral and poster presentations will be given to student presenters. Students, if they wish to participate, should indicate their eligibility for a student award when they submit their abstracts. To be eligible, you must be currently enrolled as a student at a university, and you also must be the lead author and presenter of the work.

Conference Contacts

For additional information, please contact the program chairs: Juliana Dias (email: [email protected]), Stephanie Henderson  (email: [email protected]), and Brandon Wolding (email: [email protected]).